Announcing our Write-a-thon Grand Prize winners

photo by Chris Hardy

UPDATE: Thank you to all our Write-a-thoners!  Collectively, you raised over $10,000 to support the free programs that 826 Valencia offers to San Francisco students.

And now, the moment you tireless and brilliant writers have been waiting for. The staff of 826 Valencia read the entries, ran the numbers, furrowed our brows in difficult decision, and after much consideration, we are pleased to announce our two winners of the third annual Write-a-thon’s Grand Prize: a reading at 826 Valencia during LitCrawl.

  • The Grand Prize for top individual fundraiser goes to Jasmine Tsai, who raised an outstanding $1,350.
  • The Grand Prize winner selected by the staff of 826 Valencia is Brian Karfunkel.

Please join us at 826 Valencia during LitCrawl, October 13 at 8:30 pm, to hear our Write-a-thon winners read. See you there!

On August 26 (8/26 Day), Eighty-five writers of all ages packed our writing lab for 826 Valencia’s third annual Write-a-thon.  Participants wrote until 8:26 pm to support the free programs that 826 Valencia has been offering to Bay Area students and teachers for the past ten years.

The San Francisco Writers’ Grotto kicked off our extravaganza with a workshop using their new book, 642 Things to Write About. Attendees scribbled on prompts (including dreams from the previous night) before a bellowing vuvuzela called time. We enjoyed scrumptious baked goods donated by our neighbors at Craftsman + Wolves and savory empanadas donated by Venga Empanadas.

photo by Chris Hardy

Throughout the afternoon, Dave Eggers rewarded our tireless Write-a-thoners with hand-drawn sketches of themselves working on their novels, novelas, and poems. And to celebrate our tenth birthday, we sang “Happy Birthday” to 826 halfway through the Write-a-thon and blew out the candles on an 826-themed cake.  It all came to a bittersweet end at 8:26 pm with a champagne toast to 826 Valencia’s ten years and to the incredible dedication of the Write-a-thon participants.

Thank you to the many people who raised pledges and came out to write with us during the Write-a-thon.  There are still two grand prize winners to announce – the person who raised the most money and the most entertaining excerpt from the day’s writing.  Check back here next week, when we’ll make the official announcement of who will be giving readings during SF Lit Crawl.

826 Valencia is grateful to the following writers who worked so tirelessly on our behalf:

Alexander Marcus

Alice Beckett

Alva Fong

Avni Sisodiya

Beatrix Henry

Bhaskar Rao

Brandon Brown

Brian Karfunkel

Brooke Wright

Candace Bagley

Christina Yan

Emily Joan Smith

Emily Ostendorf

Emji Spero

Erik Kokkonen

Evan Karp

Frances Maples

Giancarlo Varanini

Heather Robinson

Jacqueline Acosta

James Mulholland

Jane Goldman

Jasmine Tsai

Jeffrey Huang

Jeff Ryan

Jen Haley

Jessica Berta

Jim Houseman

John Birdsall

John Engell

Julie Marse

Juliet Sanders

Katie Hunter

Leila Pitko

Lisa Asta

Lora Benin

Luis Arriaga-Lucero

Maggie Wooll

Marcus Jake

Marissa Skud Lark

Maxwell McGee

Meg Chilton

Meghan Adler

Melissa Yang

Misha Aziz

Misha McPherson

Naoki O’Bryan

Nathan Bransford

Nick Wan

Pei-Ru Ko

Peter Brown

Rebecca Rubenstein

Rhea St. Julien

Robin Terrell

Sarah Adler

Sarah Griffin

Seth Rosenblatt

Shannon Stairhime

Shaun McInnis

Shideh Etaat

Sonia Suresh

Stephanie Keep

Susan O’Connor

Van Nguyen

Wayne Cunningham

Wendy Webb

Write Club SF

Xiomara Blanco


This entry was posted in 826 News.

Comments are closed.